Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> Live disc rolling into water (but is already OB)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:25 am    Post subject: Live disc rolling into water (but is already OB) Reply with quote

Paul, you'll like this one...

PDGA.com wrote:
On live coverage today, an amateur picked up his disc that had already rolled across the path into the OB area but it was continuing to roll almost into water. Two-throw penalty? 803.07C


http://www.pdga.com/discussion/showthread.php?t=33488
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!


Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:25 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The disc isn't OB until it comes to rest in the OB area (803.09A).

I can hear the guy already: "It was going to land OB. I just didn't want it to roll into the pond."

You know what, though?

He gets two strokes for being too lazy to let it stop moving (803.07C), but the rules get silly here: he has the option to rethrow if he wants to (803.07A), which makes it THE SAME PENALTY AS HE WOULD HAVE FACED HAD HE LET IT ROLL (one stroke for the throw, one for going OB).

Why is this another example of how many holes are in the rules, especially as they relate to OB?

Because if the TD had declared a drop zone for the water, HE WOULDN'T HAVE TO USE IT!

The AM player ended up in the best possible situation, whether he was smart enough to realize it or not.

PDGA Rules Commitee, take notice: a player that chooses to interfere with their own disc should never be given the option to re-throw.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They're stuck on the unplayable lie scenario on the PDGA forum. That's another rule that stands ready to be abused, but not for the reasons they're talking about. They're hung up on OB.

The disc is OB once it comes to rest, so at that point you take your stroke and establish your lie in accordance with the rules (and the TD's wishes). If you then declare your lie unplayable, you're declaring where it was marked following its going OB unplayable. Sure, you can go back to your previous lie, but you're now taking another penalty. An unplayable lie requires that you have a lie. Until that is determined, you can't consider it unplayable. The lie can never be in an OB area; the lie for a shot that goes OB is governed by 803.09B, and you'll notice that none of the options see the lie in the OB area.

"The lie" is also a grossly under represented concept in the PDGA rules. Yet another hole.


Last edited by burjwahzeh on Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:18 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3422
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

burjwahzeh wrote:
Sure, you can go back to your previous lie, but you're now taking another penalty.


huh? Are you saying the previous "lie" was the OB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts