Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf General Discussion -> Needing resident expert advice
View previous topic :: View next topic  
DJ
Mid-Ranger

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2000 2:28 pm    Post subject: Needing resident expert advice Reply with quote

G'Day you disc whelding crew.

Ultimate is getting too mainstream for my liking so I'm thinking of making the move. Since I'm only a couple blocks away from our city course its something I might actually be able to kick my butt out to do.

Now here's my question to anyone who cares to reply.

I'm relatively new to the world of disc golf however while I lived out in Vancouver I did manage to play some. I own two discs(if Tom will ever give them back), a magnet and a cyclone plus a few others with name I don't know and a bunch of long distance phone numbers.

Looking to buy a couple discs and curious what I should get. I plan on keeping my magnet but everything else is up in the air. Not just for my beginner game now but something I could grow into and use down the road.

Suggestions??

DJ

SeaBass
Putter

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2000 7:05 am    Post subject: Needing resident expert advice Reply with quote

Those are both excellent discs and a good choice for your first two (driver and putter). Now I'd look for an understable disc (disc that breaks right). I'd suggest a Stratus, Comet or a Stingray.

The concept is all golf discs want to break left, some with a little hyzer will break right before they eventually want to go left (due to a lack of spin). An understable disc will also make a great roller disc for windy days.

Start filling up your golf bag with a variety of discs that will help you out of almost any situation.

After buying an understable disc I'd recommend another driver that will go straight a long way before breaking left. A couple of good suggestions are the Eagle and Whippet.

Good luck and see you on the course.

Shaggy
Spin Doctor