Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf General Discussion -> Cali Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
surge
Champion of Chains


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 2962
Location: With my discs!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:25 am    Post subject: Cali Reply with quote

What are the club cali rules or is it a TD call?
Can you throw two drives after using two putts on the previous hole?
I've done a quick search and nothing is consistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:28 am    Post subject: Re: Cali Reply with quote

surge wrote:
What are the club cali rules or is it a TD call?
Can you throw two drives after using two putts on the previous hole?
I've done a quick search and nothing is consistent.


We have always played that after you throw 2 shots you are only allowed to throw one. Take 2 putts to finish the hole? Then you only get one drive.

There are variations played on cali. Only one extra shot per hole is an example.

But in Ottawa it has always been 2 then 1 and does not reset at the end of the hole
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surge
Champion of Chains


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 2962
Location: With my discs!

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anyone else?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1486
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 10:56 am    Post subject: Re: Cali Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
surge wrote:
What are the club cali rules or is it a TD call?
Can you throw two drives after using two putts on the previous hole?
I've done a quick search and nothing is consistent.


We have always played that after you throw 2 shots you are only allowed to throw one. Take 2 putts to finish the hole? Then you only get one drive.



This has always been the rule in Ottawa. Other clubs may have different rules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1974
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:04 am    Post subject: Re: Cali Reply with quote

clausr wrote:
Thumber wrote:
surge wrote:
What are the club cali rules or is it a TD call?
Can you throw two drives after using two putts on the previous hole?
I've done a quick search and nothing is consistent.


We have always played that after you throw 2 shots you are only allowed to throw one. Take 2 putts to finish the hole? Then you only get one drive.



This has always been the rule in Ottawa. Other clubs may have different rules.


always been the rule in ottawa. once you take two, the next is one (unless you mullie, but then it isn't best-disc).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never really considered the advantage of playing Cali with Mullies as well. Quite a leg up on the field.
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike McCormick
Guru of Gab


Joined: 25 Nov 2000
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
I never really considered the advantage of playing Cali with Mullies as well. Quite a leg up on the field.


And they can use 9 mullies.
_________________
Frolfing happily along.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andros
ODGC Presidents Cup Champion


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 8377
Location: Ottawa

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike McCormick wrote:
Thumber wrote:
I never really considered the advantage of playing Cali with Mullies as well. Quite a leg up on the field.


And they can use 9 mullies.

This one is new, which I will add to the rules.

After a cali player is determined he/she may purchase up to 9.
_________________
Hyzer enthusiast
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3422
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, if you at any point you are allowed to take 2 shots but choose to only take 1, you can take 2 at the next lie, i.e. you don't forfeit your chance at 2 shots. For example, the putting scenario in which you are allowed 2 shots, but sink it in 1. You can then use 2 shots on the next drive.

Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1974
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3422
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.


Well, that's a disadvantage compared to a regular team, which can decide which of their 2 throws they choose to mullie - after they have both thrown...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMR wrote:
bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.


Well, that's a disadvantage compared to a regular team, which can decide which of their 2 throws they choose to mullie - after they have both thrown...


Need to go back and see where Cali finished each week. I suspect it's top 3 every week

Omr loves him some Cali action
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1974
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMR wrote:
bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.


Well, that's a disadvantage compared to a regular team, which can decide which of their 2 throws they choose to mullie - after they have both thrown...


why would you throw a second throw if you threw a good one the first time?

so you throw a second throw. if your second throw is good then you keep it. if your second throw is better than your first, why would you mullie anyways? if your second throw is worse, then you'd mullie it.

i guess there are reasons why you'd mullie your first one and keep your crappy second.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3422
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Wed Dec 11, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:
bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.


Well, that's a disadvantage compared to a regular team, which can decide which of their 2 throws they choose to mullie - after they have both thrown...


why would you throw a second throw if you threw a good one the first time?

so you throw a second throw. if your second throw is good then you keep it. if your second throw is better than your first, why would you mullie anyways? if your second throw is worse, then you'd mullie it.

i guess there are reasons why you'd mullie your first one and keep your crappy second.


Maybe you're on an ace run hunt and have mullies to burn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
surge
Champion of Chains


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 2962
Location: With my discs!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for confirming the local rules guys, Briggs thought it reset after every hole.

Last edited by surge on Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1486
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 9:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
OMR wrote:
bbp wrote:
OMR wrote:


Mullies are interesting with Cali. You have to make clear which of your 2 drives is being mullied before you throw!


maybe you should only be allowed to mullie the last one.


Well, that's a disadvantage compared to a regular team, which can decide which of their 2 throws they choose to mullie - after they have both thrown...


Need to go back and see where Cali finished each week. I suspect it's top 3 every week

Omr loves him some Cali action



From years of observation I think you need to be in the top 1/3 of the field to have an advantage playing Cali. If you aren't its pretty easy to finish dead last. There is nothing you can do when your cali your partner sucks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1486
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cali advantage is also course dependant. Its more of an advantage when on a short scoring course, less of an advantage on a longer course or a course with lots of par 3.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

surge wrote:
Thanks for confirming the local rules guys, Briggs thought it reset after every hole.


I assume he wasn't allowed to play that way?
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
briggs
Disc Jockey


Joined: 31 Jul 2008
Posts: 593

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
surge wrote:
Thanks for confirming the local rules guys, Briggs thought it reset after every hole.


I assume he wasn't allowed to play that way?


I did for one hole. Sorry for the confusion. The last time I played as cali was probably in South River, ~ 4 or 5 years ago.

I'll count it as another mullie burned, I had 5 left at the end of the round, so I've got 4 left for next time. I have to work this saturday so that will be sometime in the new year.

I had 9 pretty spectacular holes. I was 2 strokes off the pace after 3 holes and at the end of the front 9


Last edited by briggs on Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
surge
Champion of Chains


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 2962
Location: With my discs!

PostPosted: Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I loved the way you tried to convince all four of us that you did hit that tonal, classic Briggs. laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf General Discussion All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts