Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> 806.01 Two-meter Rule
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:24 pm    Post subject: 806.01 Two-meter Rule Reply with quote

Quote:
806.01 Two-meter Rule

A. If a disc has come to rest above two meters, as measured from the lowest point of the disc to the playing surface directly below it, the player shall be assessed a one-throw penalty. The player shall then proceed in accordance with 802.02.C.

B. If the lie directly below the disc on the playing surface is out-of-bounds, the disc is played as out-of-bounds regardless of its height above the playing surface.

C. A disc supported by the target is not subject to the two-meter rule.

D. If the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc is considered to have come to rest above two meters.

E. The Director may declare the two-meter rule to be in effect for the entire course, for particular holes, and/or for individual objects.




Quote:
QA 8: Disc Knocked out of Tree
Q:
My disc was stuck in a tree well above two meters (with the two-meter rule in effect), when another player's throw knocked it to the ground. Where is my lie, and am I subject to a two-meter penalty throw?

A:
The disc is played relative to where it first came to rest. Since that was clearly above two meters, you are subject to a penalty throw just as if the disc had stayed in the tree. As for the player whose throw knocked your disc down, the interference rule does not apply to a competitively thrown disc. Applicable Rules: 804.03 Interference; 802.02 Establishing Position; 806.01 Two-meter Rule.


Quote:
802.02 Establishing Position

A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.

B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.

C. If the disc first comes to rest above or below the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below or above the disc.

D. If the thrown disc breaks into pieces, the largest piece is deemed to be the thrown disc.

E. If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position. If it first came to rest elsewhere, the disc need not be replaced, and any determinations are made relative to where it first came to rest.



Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Iffie rule.

What if the disc is 1.9 m and gets blown down from the wind? How do you know it was 2 m unless you were actually there to measure?
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was right.

Even after two PDGa "officials" ruled the other way
_________________
meh


Last edited by Thumber on Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1485
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:57 am    Post subject: Re: 806.01 Two-meter Rule Reply with quote

It's this rule that makes the 2m a complete disaster.

Quote:
802.02 Establishing Position

A. The thrown disc establishes a position where it first comes to rest.

B. A disc is considered to be at rest once it is no longer moving as a result of the momentum imparted by the throw. A disc in water or foliage is considered to be at rest once it is moving only as a result of movement of the water, the foliage, or the wind.

C. If the disc first comes to rest above or below the playing surface, its position is on the playing surface directly below or above the disc.

D. If the thrown disc breaks into pieces, the largest piece is deemed to be the thrown disc.

E. If the thrown disc has moved after it first came to rest on the in-bounds playing surface, it shall be replaced to its approximate position. If it first came to rest elsewhere, the disc need not be replaced, and any determinations are made relative to where it first came to rest.



So as soon as your disc "stops" on a branch it's 2m? What about if it starts to slide down the branch? Nope. That's gravity making it move, not the "momentum imparted by the throw".

At the OO, Mark threw a disc up the green of 17 and it started to roll. It stopped rolling for a second and then rolled back on itself. Would he not mark it where it stopped rolling? After that, it's not the "momentum imparted by the throw" that's making it move, its gravity.

What about if you threw it on a roof and it slide to the top, hit the peak and slid back down?

Good intentions, but not thought out fully I don't think.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!


Last edited by Jefrey A. Brother on Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:14 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1485
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.


He forgot
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3419
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.


He forgot


Voila, la vieillesse...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1485
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.


He forgot


My computer is doing that for some reason, its not me me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

clausr wrote:
Thumber wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.


He forgot


My computer is doing that for some reason, its not me me.


These dang fangled computin machines is the problem. lol
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3419
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

clausr wrote:
Thumber wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
clausr wrote:
Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
TDs would be smart to just not include the 2 m rule to save on the headaches.


Totally agree thumbsup


You already agreed 20 minutes ago, Claus.


He forgot


My computer is doing that for some reason, its not me me.


Ahh, Mimi. My dental hygienist looks like Mimi (from Drew Cary show). Scary as f@ck, especially when she's coughing... (shudder)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jme198
Mid-Ranger


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 296

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 6:21 pm    Post subject: 2 metre rule Reply with quote

It is such an odd rule to me. I am two metres tall so the idea of taking a stroke on a disc that is a bit above my eye sight makes no sense. This rule should be rethought.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:40 pm    Post subject: Re: 2 metre rule Reply with quote

Jme198 wrote:
It is such an odd rule to me. I am two metres tall so the idea of taking a stroke on a disc that is a bit above my eye sight makes no sense. This rule should be rethought.


You're not the only one with this opinion. Probably why the PDGA has it in a category all by itself: Discretionary Rules. A TD must put this rule into play. Why one would want the headache is beyond me.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts