Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> 803.02 Optional Relief and Optional Re-throw - (2013)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: 803.02 Optional Relief and Optional Re-throw - (2013) Reply with quote

Quote:
803.02 Optional Relief and Optional Re-throw

A. Optional Relief. A player may elect at any time to take optional relief. The lie may then be relocated to a new lie which is no closer to the target, and is on the line of play. One penalty throw shall be added to the player's score.

B. Optional Re-throw. A player may elect at any time to re-throw from the previous lie. The original throw plus one penalty throw shall be counted in the player's score.

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

so if I tee off on 10 Longs at CF and saw it completely off watching the disc disappear deep into the woods and chasm on the left I can elect an optional rethrow.

My re-tee lands in the middle of the fairway.

I am now only laying 2 / shooting 3?

Seems like a pretty cheap way to buy your way out of the deep shnarb

Or is it the initial throw, plus the rethrow plus a penalty stroke?
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lissyssil
Champion of Chains


Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 2558
Location: Aylmer, QC

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're lying 3, shooting 4.

Quote:
B. Optional Re-throw. A player may elect at any time to re-throw from the previous lie. The original throw plus one penalty throw shall be counted in the player's score.

_________________
Go Sens!


Last edited by lissyssil on Mon May 13, 2013 9:05 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
C-Kyle
Spin Doctor


Joined: 07 May 2009
Posts: 1217

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's your original throw plus a penalty so you are shooting 3 when you re-tee...as for the relief, you take your relief on the line of play and when you finish the hole add 1 to your score
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Poorly worded.

I was pretty sure it was a penalty as well but it isn't clear, which is par for the course in the way the rules are written
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You'd count the initial throw. 1
You'd count the second throw (Rethrow). 1
You count the penalty. 1

You are in the middle of the fairway shooting your 4th.

I've seen the rethrow three times. All didn't work out as well as taking the original lie.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8273

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
You'd count the initial throw. 1
You'd count the second throw (Rethrow). 1
You count the penalty. 1

You are in the middle of the fairway shooting your 4th.

I've seen the rethrow three times. All didn't work out as well as taking the original lie.


I saw Dan Philips use it at the mudslide and it saved him strokes. He was deep in the shtuff
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2013 10:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
I saw Dan Philips use it at the mudslide and it saved him strokes. He was deep in the shtuff


The Alcove is a good course to be aware of this rule. Lots of places to wish you weren't in.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts