Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> "It's what separates our scores from the amateurs...'
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:05 pm    Post subject: "It's what separates our scores from the amateurs...' Reply with quote

Today, at the Verizon Open at Harbor Town on Hilton Head, Brian Davis found himself in a playoff with Jim Furyk.

Davis drove his tee shot into a designated hazard. He prepared to make his approach on the par 4 from the hazard, hoping to leave himself with a 30 foot putt or so. He made his shot, and landed it about 20 feet from the hole.

However, he then hailed an official to ask for an official interpretation of the rules of golf. He saw a dead reed rustle out of the corner of his eye, and suspected that he had hit it during his back swing.

The rules official informed him he was in a hazard, and that the reed was dead, broken, and no longer attached to the ground, and therefore a "loose impediment". Touching a loose impediment with your club, while in a hazard, is an automatic two-stroke penalty.

Video footage revealed that he had touched the dead reed during his back swing.

His putt was close, and he sunk the next shot, and scored a six on the hole due to the two-stroke penalty. Furyk won the hole with a par, and the tournament to go with it.

When later asked about how it felt to have to take that penalty, Davis replied, "It's what separates our scores from the amateurs." He called it on himself and resolved it without the need for an official or other players on his card to "witness" the infraction. His honesty cost him hundreds of thousands of dollars and an invitation to at least two exclusive golf tournaments (including the Masters in 2011).

He maintained the respect of his colleagues. He maintained his reputation as a golfer. He is a true professional.

Now, let's pretend he was a disc golfer.

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
Asked Conrad:
Quote:
Can I call myself on a rule violation without the backing of a second person or official?


Conrad wrote back:
Quote:
It depends on the call, but, generally no. The most common scenario in which that appears is calling oneself for a stance violation immediately after a horriblethrow, hoping to get a warning and a rethrow. -Conrad


Eghad.


Last edited by burjwahzeh on Sun Apr 18, 2010 11:08 pm; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

From KARLSSON WINS IN DUBAI, HELPED BY POULTER'S PLAYOFF BLUNDER

TSN.ca wrote:

Karlsson calmly rolled in a birdie putt on the second playoff hole after Poulter was given a one-stroke penalty for dropping his ball on his marker on the green, causing it to flip over and move from its original position.

"The coin was one way and the next minutes facing the other way," Poulter said. "It's pitched right on the front and flipped over. If it pitches in the middle, the coin doesn't move and it's fine."

Poulter spotted his error and reported it to the match referee, whose ruling left him with a long putt for par instead of a birdie. The putt came up a foot short, taking all the pressure off Karlsson. He then had two shots to clinch the victory in the season-ending US$7.5 million tournament.


Dude's marker moved and caused him a stroke penalty and some DGers find the anti-flipping-a-disc rule or touching the marker while throwing to harsh.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Karlsson should have duffed his putt. Would have been the classy thing to do. sarcastic eye roll
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roxie wrote:
Karlsson should have duffed his putt. Would have been the classy thing to do. sarcastic eye roll


lol....that would be just stupid
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2010 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
From KARLSSON WINS IN DUBAI, HELPED BY POULTER'S PLAYOFF BLUNDER

...
Dude's marker moved and caused him a stroke penalty and some DGers find the anti-flipping-a-disc rule or touching the marker while throwing to harsh.

Yeah, those people are playing frolf. When they want to actually play a real sport, they can learn how to play disc golf.

What irks me are the likes of Conrad Black who think disc golf needs to maintain the "flip your disc and kick your marker" type rules allowances and do-overs.

Warnings, like the first foot fault foul, are even stupider than Karlsson would have been to duff his putt to extend the playoff.
_________________
Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts