Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> Running out of Discs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Brother Andre
Sultan of Swill


Joined: 26 Jul 2000
Posts: 3276
Location: room 207

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 4:50 pm    Post subject: Running out of Discs Reply with quote

I'll admit it, I am on my way to an Ulti game and am too lazy to look this up:

If I am playing an Island hole and I empty my bag in futile attempts at a clean landing on the island, do I end up as DNF for the tourney/round?

Thanks, Gurus.

big grin

Brother
_________________
I used to rock and roll every night and party every day. Then it was every other day. Now I'm lucky to find half an hour each week in which to get funky...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, you suck though.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 11:32 am    Post subject: Re: Running out of Discs Reply with quote

Brother Andre wrote:
I'll admit it, I am on my way to an Ulti game and am too lazy to look this up:

If I am playing an Island hole and I empty my bag in futile attempts at a clean landing on the island, do I end up as DNF for the tourney/round?

Thanks, Gurus.

big grin

Brother


I've heard you DNF, but I'm sure I heard that in St. Thomas, and that is no place to learn the rules. I've fired off an email to the PDGA Rule boys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Asked:
Where would I find a rule that dealt with emptying your entire bag on an "island" hole and never landing IB?

Response:
There isn't one. It stands to reason that if you have nothing to throw, you cannot complete the round and are a DNF.
You would need to somehow procure a disc to be able to finish.
-Conrad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I'll ask it. Can someone give you a disc from their bag at any time during a round?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Brother Andre
Sultan of Swill


Joined: 26 Jul 2000
Posts: 3276
Location: room 207

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BBP, thanks for the effort. Appreciated.

Thumber, thanks for asking the follow-up.

big grin

Brother
_________________
I used to rock and roll every night and party every day. Then it was every other day. Now I'm lucky to find half an hour each week in which to get funky...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I've posted Rule 802.01 - Discs Used in Play and I can't find anything in it that would stop you from borrowing a disc from another person. I can't find another topic that might deal with this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just read through the Disc in Use section and it doesn't cover the question at all. Only possible technical out would be the "unique marking". If you use someone else's disc it has their unique marking, not yours...but its a pretty weak argument. I didn't know you were actually obligated to mark your disc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yup.

F. All discs used in play, except mini marker discs, must be uniquely marked in ink or pigment-based marking which has no detectable thickness. A player shall receive a warning for the first instance of throwing an unmarked disc if observed by two or more players of the group or an official. After the warning has been given, each subsequent throw by the player with an unmarked disc shall incur one penalty throw if observed by two or more players of the group or an official.

Which is one more stroke added to the one you just threw.

I played with a guy who just put 3 dots on his disc. It's just like in white-ball.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
If you use someone else's disc it has their unique marking, not yours...


It's still a "unique marking". wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The disc is still uniquely marked, just not with your name. This is unlike ball golf where you are only allowed up to 14 clubs inyour bag. You break one there's no replacing it, you finish the round with 13.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are cruising by the parking lot, could you stop at the car in the middle of a round and reload your bag? i think you can, in which case another player could give you discs from their bag as well....still not sure about this.

The technical issue could be that you are throwing a disc with someone else's unique mark....which makes it not unique once you throw his disc....resulting in penalty strokes for both players lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
If you are cruising by the parking lot, could you stop at the car in the middle of a round and reload your bag? i think you can, in which case another player could give you discs from their bag as well....still not sure about this.

The technical issue could be that you are throwing a disc with someone else's unique mark....which makes it not unique once you throw his disc....resulting in penalty strokes for both players lol.


As long as you don't take too long you certainly can go to your car. Players stop to pee. To get a drink. Etc.

If this does come up, and some d!ck, and his buddy (cause you need two to make the call) give you the first warning you just ask permission from the nice guy who lent you the disc to add a dot with a sharpie to "unique" it up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've emailed another bunch of questions to Conrad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Asked:
Another question (or three). I've re-read the rules, and there's nothing stopping me from borrowing a disc from another player to continue my destruction of my rating on one hole. Would you agree? Would I have to put another marking to make it "unique"? If the course meanders close to my car, could I restock on discs in the middle of a round?


Response:
Geoff,
Those are all fine (within the 30-second window of course).
-Conrad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder how many clubs send them these sort of questions
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
I wonder how many clubs send them these sort of questions


You want me to ask?

Every time (well almost every time) I write to him I invite him to the Forum to check it out. He may be reading this right now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts