Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> Changes coming for 2013 Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You and I will continue to disagree about this one Paulee wink

Wading in on 13 is no more dangerous than the climb out of #9 CF green....probably less so

I saw Rolly wade into the creek on #14 at LNFCF and make a spectacular bird save....it was most awesome
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 10:58 am    Post subject: Holed out? Reply with quote

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As well, this rule was improperly discussed last TOSS:

Quote:
Carrying an illegal disc is no longer punishable by itself. You have to throw it for there to be a penalty. The same goes for an illegal device. You are allowed to use a towel or pad on a lie. GPS devices are no longer disallowed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:27 am    Post subject: Re: Holed out? Reply with quote

bbp wrote:


I don't think it is. Its a really technical question though.

802.05 Holing Out

A. Basket Targets: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains and/or the inner cylinder (bottom and inside wall) of the tray. It may be additionally supported by the pole. A disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out.

I don't think the S hook is chain. Its part of the support system for the chains.

I could see this turning into an ugly argument in a tournament

Great question.
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't the chain link pressed up against the disc, and pinning it against the S hook? Then it would be supported.

This sh!t should count!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbp wrote:
Isn't the chain link pressed up against the disc, and pinning it against the S hook? Then it would be supported.

This sh!t should count!


I don't think the chain link is doing anything at all...the S link is fully supporting the disc.....doesn't count

stupid rules
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbp wrote:
As well, this rule was improperly discussed last TOSS:

Quote:
Carrying an illegal disc is no longer punishable by itself. You have to throw it for there to be a penalty. The same goes for an illegal device. You are allowed to use a towel or pad on a lie. GPS devices are no longer disallowed.


As well, there was a discussion about once a disc becomes approved you must wait 30 days to throw it competitively (sounds ridiculous). I can't find any proof of this rule. Could someone direct me to the rule?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
bbp wrote:
Isn't the chain link pressed up against the disc, and pinning it against the S hook? Then it would be supported.

This sh!t should count!


I don't think the chain link is doing anything at all...the S link is fully supporting the disc.....doesn't count

stupid rules


I think if you moved the chain link the disc would fall. It's supporting the disc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

bbp wrote:
Thumber wrote:
bbp wrote:
Isn't the chain link pressed up against the disc, and pinning it against the S hook? Then it would be supported.

This sh!t should count!


I don't think the chain link is doing anything at all...the S link is fully supporting the disc.....doesn't count

stupid rules


I think if you moved the chain link the disc would fall. It's supporting the disc.


No it wouldn't.....I guess in the end you would have to give the benefit of the doubt to the thrower.

Or post it up on DGCR and get 27 pages of discussion, flames and general buffoonery.
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This wouldn't happen with an Innova Yellow Band.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

disc that enters the target below the top of the tray or above the bottom of the chain support is not holed out

That disc is above the bottom of the chain support....not holed out
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Above the bottom of the chain support would be the top rings same as the below the top of the tray would be the basket. The S clip would be part of the chain, I'd say. The support is the loop that the S clip is hooked on.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roxie wrote:
Above the bottom of the chain support would be the top rings same as the below the top of the tray would be the basket. The S clip would be part of the chain, I'd say. The support is the loop that the S clip is hooked on.


so says you
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
clausr
MOD Champion


Joined: 13 Jun 2002
Posts: 1485
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm with Roxie. Supports are the stiff metal holding the chains.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeppyR64
Disc Jockey


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 736
Location: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roxie wrote:
I do.

Me too. Anything else is pedantic.
_________________
Jason Lepack
Left-Handed Sandbagger
jlepack AT gmail DOT com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8271

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm jut being argumentative to demonstrate the ambiguous nature of the rule
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bbp
King Geoffrey


Joined: 08 Dec 2013
Posts: 1938
Location: On the green

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LeppyR64 wrote:
Roxie wrote:
I do.

Me too. Anything else is pedantic.


The rules are written to be pedantic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2016 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ftfy.


Thumber wrote:
I'm jut being argumentative
big grin
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2016 11:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a thought. Those same S clips hold the bottom of the chain to the ring on some baskets. I would never think to call in "not" in if it was wedged into one of those.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts